SST data for input to WPS : data over land (After NCEP SST Analysis data EOL)

Questions/topics related to the first-guess input meteorological data, and Vtables
Post Reply
yasokada
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:39 am

SST data for input to WPS : data over land (After NCEP SST Analysis data EOL)

Post by yasokada » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:53 am

My Environment:
WPS v4.1
CentOS 7.7

I have been processing with WPS and WRF.
The WPS was processed using SST data obtained from the NCEP SST Analysis (RTG High Res).

However, those data are not available now.
https://polar.ncep.noaa.gov/sst/

Instead of NCEP SST Analysis data, I am thinking to use OI SST data.

NOAA OI SST V2 High Resolution Dataset
https://www.esrl.noaa.gov/psd/data/grid ... ghres.html

The OI SST data do not have data over land while the NCEP SST Analysis data have.

My question:
Q. The SST data over land is also necessary as the boundary condition for the surface, right?

If so, I have to use data from other sources for processing over land and connect with data over seas from OI SST.

Ming Chen
Posts: 1013
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: SST data for input to WPS : data over land (After NCEP SST Analysis data EOL)

Post by Ming Chen » Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:13 pm

SST data over land is not required. You should be fine to use the OI SST data.
WRF Help Desk

yasokada
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:39 am

Re: SST data for input to WPS : data over land (After NCEP SST Analysis data EOL)

Post by yasokada » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:10 am

Dear Ming Chen

Thank you for your reply.
I will use the OI SST data without data overland.

Best regards

Post Reply

Return to “Meteorological Input Data”