landuse one value only

Questions related to the use of new landuse, or geographical static data, or to modifications to the existing data
Post Reply
kaelel18
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:40 pm

landuse one value only

Post by kaelel18 » Sun Nov 08, 2020 4:40 pm

Hi. I am trying to change the land cover using MODIS land cover data. Previously, I was able to do this without any problem but right now I am experiencin the same problem again even if I do what I previously did. Here are things I did.

1.. I downloaded the landcover data (see uploaded 2015modis.tar.xz) then transformed it into a binary file with its corresponding index.

Code: Select all

[code][quote]
type = categorical
category_min=1
category_max=17
signed = yes
signed = yes
projection = regular_ll
dx = 0.004166666666306337
dy = 0.00416666666625
known_x = 1.0
known_y = 1.0
known_lat = 29.999999997
known_lon = 100.004166658
wordsize = 2
endian = big
tile_x = 12026
tile_y = 7200
tile_z = 1
missing_value = 255
row_order = bottom_top
units = "category"
description = "MODIS 2015"
mminlu="MODIFIED_IGBP_MODIS_NOAH""[/quote]
[/code]

2. I added a new entry in my geogrid.tbl

Code: Select all

name=LANDUSEF
        priority=1
        dest_type=categorical
        z_dim_name=land_cat
        dominant = LU_INDEX
        landmask_water =    nlcd2006_9s:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =   nlcd2006_30s:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =    nlcd2011_9s:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =       nlcd2006:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =       ssib_10m:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =        ssib_5m:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =      modis_15s:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water = modis_15s_lake:17,21      # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =      modis_30s:17         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water = modis_30s_lake:17,21      # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =       usgs_30s:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =     usgs_lakes:16,28      # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =    modis_lakes:17,21      # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =        usgs_2m:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =        usgs_5m:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =       usgs_10m:16         # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =         lowres:17,21      # Calculate a landmask from this field
        landmask_water =       default:17,21      # Calculate a landmask from this field   
	interp_option =    nlcd2006_9s:average_gcell(0.0)
        interp_option =   nlcd2006_30s:average_gcell(0.0)
        interp_option =    nlcd2011_9s:average_gcell(0.0)  
        interp_option =       nlcd2006:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =       ssib_10m:four_pt
        interp_option =        ssib_5m:four_pt
        interp_option =      modis_15s:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option = modis_15s_lake:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =      modis_30s:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option = modis_30s_lake:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =       usgs_30s:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =     usgs_lakes:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =    modis_lakes:nearest_neighbor
        interp_option =        usgs_2m:four_pt
        interp_option =        usgs_5m:four_pt
        interp_option =       usgs_10m:four_pt
        interp_option =         lowres:average_gcell(4.0)+four_pt
        interp_option =        default:nearest_neighbor
        rel_path =    nlcd2006_9s:nlcd2006_ll_9s/
        rel_path =   nlcd2006_30s:nlcd2006_ll_30s/
        rel_path =    nlcd2011_9s:nlcd2011_ll_9s/
        rel_path =       nlcd2006:nlcd2006_ll_30s/
        rel_path =       ssib_10m:ssib_landuse_10m/
        rel_path =        ssib_5m:ssib_landuse_5m/
        rel_path =      modis_15s:modis_landuse_20class_15s/
        rel_path = modis_15s_lake:modis_landuse_20class_15s_with_lakes/
        rel_path =      modis_30s:modis_landuse_20class_30s/
        rel_path = modis_30s_lake:modis_landuse_20class_30s_with_lakes/
        rel_path =       usgs_30s:landuse_30s/
        rel_path =     usgs_lakes:landuse_30s_with_lakes/
        rel_path =    modis_lakes:modis_landuse_21class_30s/
        rel_path =        usgs_2m:landuse_2m/
        rel_path =        usgs_5m:landuse_5m/
        rel_path =       usgs_10m:landuse_10m/
        rel_path =         lowres:modis_landuse_20class_5m_with_lakes/
        rel_path =        default:modis_landuse_20class_15s/
        interp_option =        ES:nearest_neighbor
	abs_path =	       ES:/home/gil/WRF/WPS_GEOG/2015_modis/
/

3. I added this to my namelist.input

Code: Select all

&share
 wrf_core = 'ARW',
 max_dom = 3,
 start_date = '2018-04-21_00:00:00', '2018-04-21_00:00:00', '2018-04-21_00:00:00', 
 end_date   = '2018-04-30_00:00:00', '2018-04-30_00:00:00', '2018-04-30_00:00:00', 
 interval_seconds = 21600,
 io_form_geogrid = 2,
 debug_level = 0,
/

&geogrid
 parent_id         = 1,1,2,
 parent_grid_ratio = 1,3,3,
 i_parent_start    = 1,29,47,
 j_parent_start    = 1,22,40,
 e_we          = 100,130,112,
 e_sn          = 105,124,118,
 geog_data_res = 'ASTER+ES','ASTER+ES','ASTER+ES',
 dx =  9000,
 dy = 9000,
 map_proj =  'mercator',
 ref_lat   = 15.474,
 ref_lon   = 121.125,
 truelat1  = 15.474,
 truelat2  = 0,
 stand_lon = 121.125,
 geog_data_path = '/home/gil/WRF/WPS_GEOG/',
 opt_geogrid_tbl_path = '/home/gil/WRF/WPS/geogrid/',
 ref_x = 50.0,
 ref_y = 52.5,
/

&ungrib
 out_format = 'WPS',
 prefix = 'FILE',
/

&metgrid
 fg_name = 'FILE',
 io_form_metgrid = 2,
 opt_metgrid_tbl_path = '/home/gil/WRF/Test/SLUCM/',
/

&mod_levs
 press_pa = 201300 , 200100 , 100000 ,
             95000 ,  90000 ,
             85000 ,  80000 ,
             75000 ,  70000 ,
             65000 ,  60000 ,
             55000 ,  50000 ,
             45000 ,  40000 ,
             35000 ,  30000 ,
             25000 ,  20000 ,
             15000 ,  10000 ,
              5000 ,   1000
 /


But looking at LU_INDEX I get,
min max both 17 for LU_INDEX
Why does it only show one value? Thanks for the answer
Attachments
modis2015.tar
(165.16 MiB) Downloaded 23 times

mgduda
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:35 pm

Re: landuse one value only

Post by mgduda » Mon Nov 09, 2020 7:33 pm

Can you verify that your land use dataset covers your WRF domain geographically? Based on the 'index' file, it looks like the south-west corner of the dataset begins at ~30 N latitude, while the center latitude of your domain is at 15.474 N latitude.
NCAR/MMM

kaelel18
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:40 pm

Re: landuse one value only

Post by kaelel18 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 9:32 am

Hi mgduda. Thank you for the response. I generated the domain grids and overlayed it over the land use which I used to convert to binary. The domain is located inside the land cover.

Capture.PNG

mgduda
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:35 pm

Re: landuse one value only

Post by mgduda » Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:53 pm

Your 'index' file specifies that the south-west pixel of the dataset is at (29.999999997 lat, 100.004166658 lon); is this location actually that of the north-west pixel? If so, you could try setting

Code: Select all

known_y = 7200.0
dy = -0.00416666666625
in your index file.
NCAR/MMM

Ming Chen
Posts: 1473
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:42 pm

Re: landuse one value only

Post by Ming Chen » Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:38 pm

I wonder what is the dataset specified by ASTER? is it actually used in this case?
WRF Help Desk

kaelel18
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:40 pm

Re: landuse one value only

Post by kaelel18 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:09 am

Hi mgduda. Apologies for the late response. Your suggestion worked. I am now able to run it right. Thanks!

Hi Ming Chen. No, im not using it. I'm using it for a previous simulation. I was not able to edit it out. :D

Post Reply

Return to “New/Modified Static Data”