Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Topics specifically related to the wrf.exe program
Post Reply
alugulaboyaj
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:16 am

Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by alugulaboyaj » Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:04 am

Hi everyone,

When I am using the sf_urban_physics = 3 option in the namelist.input file of WRF V4.0, I am getting the below mentioned issue.

"num_urban_layers too small, please increase to at least 5400"

WRF model is not running even if I added the num_urban_layers = 5400 in the namelist.input file.

I shall be grateful if anyone can help me to resolve this issue.

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by kwerner » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:25 pm

Hi,
When you increase num_urban_layers to 5400, are you still getting the same error? Please attach your namelist.input file, along with all of your rsl* files packed together into a single *.TAR (not *.rar - we can't open this type) file. Please also let me know which version of the model you are using. Thanks!
NCAR/MMM

alugulaboyaj
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:16 am

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by alugulaboyaj » Sat Feb 27, 2021 6:50 pm

Dear Kwerner,

Thank you for your kind response.

When I increased num_urban_layers to 5400, I did not get the same error, but the model is not running, I am using WRF V4.0

When I am using the sf_urban_physics = 3 option, without running any timesteps, it is showing "num_urban_layers too small, please increase to at least 5400". After adding the "num_urban_layers = 5400" option, it was running for 23 hours (out of 96 hours) then it has stopped abruptly.

As you ask, I am sending my namelist.input file and one rsl.error and out file only. The total rsl file has 13G, that's why I am not sending all rsl file. If these are necessary I will send them.

Note: I was able to complete the simulations with the sf_urban_physics =1 and 2 options but the problem with option 3 only.

Thanking you
Attachments
namelist.input
(4.57 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
rsl.error.0000.txt
(1.53 MiB) Downloaded 9 times
rsl.out.0000.txt
(27.09 MiB) Downloaded 7 times

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by kwerner » Mon Mar 01, 2021 6:03 pm

Hi,
It looks like there were some issues with urban option 3 prior to V4.2 of the WRF code. Can you try to run this with V4.2 code (or newer) and see if you're able to get past the problem?
NCAR/MMM

alugulaboyaj
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:16 am

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by alugulaboyaj » Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:40 pm

Dear Kwerner,

As you suggested I used the WRF V4.2 for urban option 3, but it is showing below-mentioned issue/error when I am running the real.exe. Same namelist.input file is working for the WRFV4.0 but it is not working for WRFV4.2.

"Maybe this is a global domain, but the polar flag was not set in the bdy_control namelist".

I shall be grateful if you could give me some suggestions to solve my issue.
Thank you

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by kwerner » Tue Mar 02, 2021 5:29 pm

The error is stating that it believes you are using a global domain, but you don't have the polar flag set in your namelist. To correct this, you simply need to add (in the &bdy_control section)

Code: Select all

polar = .true.
NCAR/MMM

alugulaboyaj
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:16 am

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by alugulaboyaj » Wed Mar 03, 2021 1:02 pm

Dear Kwerner,

After adding the polar = .true. in the &bdy_control section, it is showing below mentioned error.



alloc_space_field: domain 1 , 847752956 bytes allocated
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 Yes, this special data is acceptable to use: OUTPUT FROM METGRID V4.2
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 Input data is acceptable to use:
metgrid input_wrf.F first_date_input = 2020-10-11_00:00:00
metgrid input_wrf.F first_date_nml = 2020-10-11_00:00:00
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 Timing for input 1 s.
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 flag_soil_layers read from met_em file is 1
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 Turning off use of MAX WIND level data in vertical interpolation
d01 2020-10-11_00:00:00 Turning off use of TROPOPAUSE level data in vertical interpolation
*** Error in boundary condition specification
boundary conditions at xs 1
boundary conditions at xe 1
boundary conditions at ys 2
boundary conditions at ye 2
boundary conditions logicals are
periodic_x F
periodic_y F
symmetric_xs F
symmetric_xe F
symmetric_ys F
symmetric_ye F
open_xs F
open_xe F
open_ys F
open_ye F
polar T
nested F
specified T
-------------- FATAL CALLED ---------------
FATAL CALLED FROM FILE: <stdin> LINE: 165
*** Error in boundary condition specification
-------------------------------------------
application called MPI_Abort(MPI_COMM_WORLD, 1) - process 19

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by kwerner » Mon Mar 08, 2021 5:39 pm

Ok, I went back and looked closer at your namelist. It doesn't look like you are actually trying a global run, so remove the "polar" option from the namelist. Go back and run again and this time, please send me the full output log (e.g., rsl.error.*) so that I can take a look. Thanks!
NCAR/MMM

alugulaboyaj
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:16 am

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by alugulaboyaj » Mon Apr 12, 2021 9:46 am

Dear Kwerner,

Sorry for the late response. I was unable to concentrate on my research due to some personal problems.

As you suggested, I am attaching the namelist.input file and all rsl files in zip format.

Than you
Attachments
RSL_files.zip
(962.2 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Unable to run the WRF with sf_urban_physics = 3 option

Post by kwerner » Mon Apr 12, 2021 8:15 pm

Thanks for sending those.

1) As we know there is likely a problem with urban option 3 in older versions, I'd like to ask that, at least for now, you use the latest version of the code (V4.2.2). It's a lot harder to try to troubleshoot a problem, when there could potentially be multiple problems. The rsl files you sent show that you're using V4.0.

2) You mentioned that you did set num_urban_layers to 5400, but I'm not seeing it in your namelist, and the rsl.out* files still give the error:

Code: Select all

num_urban_layers too small, please increase to at least         5400
However, this is no longer a namelist option (and I assume something that needs to be done) in the newer versions of the code. I just wanted to point out that this is the reason for the failure - at least in the simulation you sent me, for V4.0.

3) If WRF is still failing when you use V4.2.2, try to determine if there is a particular domain causing the problem by running only 1 domain, and if that runs, try 2. Once the model fails, please re-send your new namelist and rsl* files.

Thanks!
NCAR/MMM

Post Reply

Return to “wrf.exe”