(RESOLVED) 'Pressure level output' option in Output Diagnostics not working properly

Topics specifically related to any of the WRF runtime options, such as SST update, DFI, nudging, restarts, global runs, adaptive time step, ndown.exe, tc.exe, moving nest, etc.
Post Reply
Shubhi
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 5:45 pm

(RESOLVED) 'Pressure level output' option in Output Diagnostics not working properly

Post by Shubhi » Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:02 pm

Hello,

I am trying to use the 'pressure level output' option in WRF3.9.1. to save U, V, T at some pressure levels. But instead of these 3-D variables, I am getting V10, U10, T2, Q2 in the auxiliary output file. I have copied selected inputs from my namelist.input file for reference below.

Any inputs/suggestions would be appreciated.


----namelist input--------------------------
&time_control

auxhist23_outname= "wrfpress_d<domain>_<date>"
auxhist23_interval = 180, 180,
frames_per_auxhist23 = 100, 100,
io_form_auxhist23 = 2,

&diag
p_lev_diag = 1
num_press_level = 3,
press_levels = 85000, 70000, 50000,
/
--------------------------------------------

Thanks,
Shubhi

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Using 'Pressure level output' option in Output Diagnostics

Post by kwerner » Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:16 pm

Hi Shubhi,
I'm not sure if this is causing the problem, but several of the parameters you listed in your namelist are slightly incorrect. This is your current section:

&diag
p_lev_diag = 1
num_press_level = 3,
press_levels = 85000, 70000, 50000,
/

but it should be:

&diags
p_lev_diags = 1
num_press_levels = 3,
press_levels = 85000, 70000, 50000,
/

(You are missing the 's' at the end of several words). See if making those modifications helps anything.
NCAR/MMM

Shubhi
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2021 5:45 pm

Re: Using 'Pressure level output' option in Output Diagnostics

Post by Shubhi » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:30 am

Hi,

These modifications solved the problem. Thank you!

Shubhi

kwerner
Posts: 2287
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: Using 'Pressure level output' option in Output Diagnostics

Post by kwerner » Wed Feb 24, 2021 6:28 pm

Great! Thanks for letting us know.
NCAR/MMM

Post Reply

Return to “Special Running Options”