Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Warm Bubble Initialization Several Hours into a Simulation

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

wflams

Hi All,

I'm trying to initialize a warm bubble in the idealized supercell simulation several hours into a simulation (rather than at time = 0). Does anyone have experience doing something similar? Thanks!

Hello,

I have no direct experience with supercell simulations but have faced a similar issue when I wanted to release the tracers at a specific time and for a user given duration. I had to create two new namelist variables (tracer_start_time and tracer_run_time) and modify the initialize and solver code accordingly to start the tracers at a user-specified time. At every timestep I would check if the current time is greater than the user specified start_time and if it is, I would start releasing the tracers. Similar to mine, In your case, I would assume modifying the module_initialize code for that ideal case and then the solve file might help.

Hope this helps.

Sudheer

wflams said:
Hi All,

I'm trying to initialize a warm bubble in the idealized supercell simulation several hours into a simulation (rather than at time = 0). Does anyone have experience doing something similar? Thanks!

I'm trying to do the same thing in the em_fire ideal case... I want to have a spin up period, and delay the bubble for a few hours... I can't seem to figure out how to do it either... a bit over my head fortran wise... Did you ever figure this out? Thanks!

Hi All,
In order to initialize a warm bubble later in an idealized simulation, there are a couple of files you'll need to modify:
dyn_em/solve_em.F