Adding new field in control file

Inquiries or comments related to the Unified Post Processor

Moderators: NCAR/SOLAR, NCAR/UPP

Post Reply
mattjcm900
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 9:04 am

Adding new field in control file

Post by mattjcm900 » Fri Jan 01, 2021 9:13 am

I'm using UPPV4.0 to post-process my WRF simulations (WRF4).
By reading the user guide I noticed that is possible to add a new entry in the control file.
I read in the table of "GRIB1 Fields Produced by Unipost", that is present TEMP AT 10 M.

I added the two lines in my control file:
(TEMP AT 10 M ) SCAL=( 5.0)
L=(10000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000)
but I don't get anything...

By looking at the log file I found this message:
FIELD TEMP AT 10 M ) SCAL= NOT AVAILABLE

What I have to do?

Thank you

mattjcm900
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 9:04 am

Re: Adding new field in control file

Post by mattjcm900 » Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:43 pm

By respecting the format of the control file I can read the field in the grib file

That means, instead of
(TEMP AT 10 M ) SCAL=( 5.0)
L=(10000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000)

I wrote
(TEMP AT 10 M "here spaces" ) SCAL=( 5.0)
L=(10000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000 00000)

But now the problem is that I get a constant field, value =0 when I open it with Grads.

What could be the problem?

hertneky
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 4:18 pm

Re: Adding new field in control file

Post by hertneky » Mon Mar 29, 2021 9:59 pm

The field 'TEMP AT 10 M" is not a field that can be output from the WRF model. This is why you get 0's in your output.

If you have 10M TMP in your WRF output, perhaps you can try adding it to the src/unipost/INITPOST.F routine (for reading WRF output) following these instructions https://dtcenter.org/sites/default/file ... riable.pdf

Since t10m is already added to the other necessary routines (for another model), that may be all that's needed. You'll need to re-compile the code for any source code changes to take effect.

Note that we no longer provide WRF support to test and troubleshoot this further.

Post Reply

Return to “UPP”