Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Automatically-moving nested domain appearing "stuck" at initial position (WRF vortex-following)

beuraieon_a

Hello everyone. I'm still a beginner in the WRF model, and I need your insights on how WRF's vortex-following mode actually works.

I recently tried running WRF with vortex-following for an intense Western North Pacific tropical cyclone. And I observed that while the automatically-moving nested domain did "automatically move" along with the cyclonic vortex, the nested domain remained stuck at its initial position when I visualized the WRF output using post-processing tools. I was expecting that the nested domain will "move across the map" along with the movement of the cyclonic vortex being tracked.

This is shown in the attached GIF animation of the WRF output for 10-meter wind speed and direction. I also attached my namelist files for your perusal. I opted to apply the default vortex-following settings, that's why their relevant variables (vortex_interval, max_vortex_speed, track_level etc.) are not present in the &domains section of my "namelist.input" file.