Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

CMIP5/CMIP6 initial and boundary condition for WRF

sium

Hello,

I am new to initializing WRF using CMIP data. Can someone list the steps on how to generate metgrid data from CMIP and Vtable i should be using

Thanks

• Love
Reactions: jjj
Hi,
If you do a search in this forum for "CMIP" you can see a few other conversations that have taken place regarding CMIP data, and that may be helpful to you. You will need to obtain data containing the mandatory variables for running WRF. As for a Vtable, I would advise to use an existing Vtable and make modifications to use the GRIB codes used for CMIP data, assuming the data are in GRIB format. You can use the program /WPS/util/g2print.exe (or g1print.exe) to see the variables listed and their codes.

Hello Kwerner,

I read running ungrib is not need when you initial WRF with CMIP data. Just start CMIP model output to create intermidate data (met_em_d0?) . That is why I am asking for the step to follow on how to initialize WRF with CMIP.