Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Help & tips using ndown

Arty

Hello to the community,

First, I hope I posted this thread in the right section, as ndown is (to me) kind of inbetween WPS & WRF. Then, I beg for your indulgence as I'm new to WRF and its whole environment (i.e. Linux, supercomputing) ; but as you all I bet, passion got me here, willing to learn. This post will expose my project and may contain a lot of different questions which I may assign a number to in order to keep track.
I'd also like to thank you in advance for your help and advices.

Context :
High resolution modelisation over a tropical island in the center of South Pacific. Downscaling from previous WRF simulation (wrfouts) d01 at 21km (33 vert. levels) with ndown, which will serve as input to a suite of nested domains d02 at 7km (ratio : 3) and finally d03 at 2,33 km (ratio : 3) - vertical refinement with a factor 2 is not excluded yet. The previous WRF simulation already was a downscaling, hence let's call the "original" wrfouts d02* (star) - d02* = d01.
I edited my namelist in order to have 3 domains.

d01 is set exactly as d02* i.e. : dx = dy = 21 ; 441 x 166 grid points ; 33 vert. levels
d02 is set this way : dx = dy = 7 ; 151 x 151 grid points ; 33 vert. levels (or possibly 66 if refinement) ; i_start : 310 ; j_start : 66
d03 is set as : dx = dy = 2,33 ; 151 x 151 grid points ; 33 vert. levels (or possibly 66 if refinement) ; i_start : 51 ; j_start : 51

Capture d’écran du 2022-11-29 22-38-03.png
Figure 1 : screenshot from WRF Domain Wizard. Domains d02 and d03 center are superimposed.

For the time period, I chose 4 days to run first tests.