Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Is this model configuration likely to produce reliable results?

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

thiagods

Dear all,

I am a pretty seasoned land modeller but this is my first time handling an atmospheric model. I am preparing a set of WRF v4.1.3 simulations that aim to investigate land/atmosphere interactions by altering the default WRF land use map. I plan to publish the results in a research paper.

My study region is central/northeastern Brazil, with 27/9 Km nested domains and two one-year simulations (one control with default geographic data and one experiment with altered LU map). I will be using CFSv2 for the year of 2013 to drive the WRF runs.

Since I currently have no affiliation with a large institution that provides access to a HPC, I will be using some remaining student credits on AWS to set up a cluster (3 nodes with 16 real cores each) that will run WRF. I can afford to run this cluster 24/7 for around 20 days. With such tight computing resources to run these simulations, I have little margin to make mistakes.

Therefore, I was wondering if more experienced WRF users, perhaps even some staff members, would be willing to take a look at my WPS/WRF namelists to see what potentially could go wrong with my runs and where there is room for improvements. I am particularly unsure as to the which physics parameterizations to use. It doesn't seem to exist any consensus on that. Ideally, I would perform sensitivity tests to determine the best physics combinations for my specific study domain. However, spending computing resources on this is currently out of question as I have to focus on the main runs.