Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Questions About Using Precompiled WRF on AWS

spark1

Hello WRF community,

I'm new to using WRF on AWS, and I have a few questions regarding the process. I hope some of you with more experience can provide some guidance.

Question 1: Transferring Precompiled WRF to My School Cluster

I'm interested in using precompiled WRF (WPS and WRF) on AWS, but I also need to run simulations on my school cluster. Is it possible to transfer the precompiled WRF (including all necessary files) from AWS to my school cluster? If so, what is the recommended method for doing this, and are there any specific configurations or permissions to be aware of when transferring the files?

Question 2: Obtaining Extra Geographic Data

I understand that I may need additional geographic data for certain WRF models like Noah MP. Can I simply use tools like wget to download the required data files and place them in the WPS_GEOG directory? Are there any specific guidelines or best practices for acquiring and formatting this additional geographic data?

Question 3: Managing Input Data

When it comes to input data, such as ERA5 data, can I create a directory on my AWS instance and download this data directly into that directory using wget or a similar method? What are the recommended steps for managing input data efficiently and ensuring it is accessible to my WRF simulations?

Question 4: Storage Limitations with AWS Free Tier

I'm currently using the AWS free tier, and I'm concerned about storage limitations. Do you have any suggestions for handling storage efficiently within the free-tier limits when working with large input files and geographic data? Are there AWS services or strategies I should consider to optimize storage usage?