Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

real.exe segmentation fault 11 - ERA5-pressure-level data

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

okurum

hello all,
I am very new to WRF and trying to use ERA5-pressure-level data to simulate a hurricane event.
Following the tutorial here https://dreambooker.site/2019/10/03/Initializing-the-WRF-model-with-ERA5-pressure-level/ .
I got the following files for pressure level and surf data for the period I am interested in.
ERA5-20180911-20180919-pl.grib
ERA5-20180911-20180919-surf.grib

- geogrid.exe runs fine and I can visualize my nested domains.
- ungrib.exe

below is what I am doing and I wonder if it's the correct way of doing it:

./link_grib.csh /ERA5-20180911-20180919-pl.grib
before running ungrib.exe, I edit the lines:
&ungrib
out_format = 'WPS',
prefix = 'PRES'
./ungrib.exe
rm GRIBFILE.AAA

./link_grib.csh /ERA5-20180911-20180919-surf.grib
before running ungrib.exe, I edit the lines:
&ungrib
out_format = 'WPS',
prefix = 'SURF'
./ungrib.exe

I end up with PRES* and SURF* for all timesteps. Then I run ./metgrid.exe with the &metgrid file prefixes as below (feeding both SURF and PRES file to metgrid):
&metgrid
fg_name = 'SURF','PRES'
io_form_metgrid = 2
/

I get all met_em files (all timesteps for d01 and first timestep for d02), link them to WRF/run folder.

Next, I am running real.exe with:
mpiexec -np 1 ./real.exe

and I get a segmentation fault 11 error - I do not see a spike in RAM usage so I don't think it's a "not enough RAM" issue.

I would really appreciate any advice on how to proceed. I attached bunch of files that can help.
Cheers

Please note that I repeated the same process with: