Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Segmentation fault for MPI + OpenMP implementation

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

Anna_1986

I am a beginner user of your application. I would like to use a hybrid version of the WRF-Chem V4.0.3. There is no error for MPI version on 10 nodes (12 MPI per node). But when I configure WRF-Chem by using "51" and "1" options (dm+sm mode, Intel compiler, basic) and run on 10 nodes (12 MPI processes per node, 2 OpenMP threads per MPI process), I get a segmentation fault:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
_pmiu_daemon(SIGCHLD): [NID 03466] [c6-1c0s2n2] [Thu Jan 30 15:17:03 2020] PE RANK 80 exit signal Segmentation fault
[NID 03466] 2020-01-30 15:17:03 Apid 4463210: initiated application termination
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The output file ends with the following lines:
Timing for processing lateral boundary for domain 1: 158.71330 elapsed seconds
WRF NUMBER OF TILES FROM OMP_GET_MAX_THREADS = 2
Tile Strategy is not specified. Assuming 1D-Y
WRF TILE 1 IS 1 IE 80 JS 1 JE 34
WRF TILE 2 IS 1 IE 80 JS 35 JE 67
WRF NUMBER OF TILES = 2
Top of Radiation Driver
CALL cldfra1

I guess that a problem is in the subroutine radiation_driver() from the module radiation_driver.f90. I found the OpenMP loop (line 992 - line 2377) and a call of the subroutine cal_cldfra1(). But I do not know exactly what caused the error.

Please, help solve this problem.

Hi,