Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Using dust only opt, no Dust_x variables in wrfinput_d0x files

Nero

I am a very beginner of the WRF modle. I am using WRF-Chem (WRF version 4.4.1) with chem-opt=401 and dust-opt=1 to conduct the exercise 1(dust only simulation) on the WRF-CHEM homepage. But after I run the real.exe program, there is no Dust_x variables in the wrfinput files. Is there any way to solve this problem? I've tried WRF vesion 4.3.3, but I still failed.
Thanks very much for your reading.

Hi Nero,
I do not know which exercise you refer to. But when I do dust simulations I normally force the simulation without dust and let the WRF model emit dust itself. So everything is fine when Dust_x is zero in wrfinput after running real.exe. But EROD, CLAYFRAC should not be zero in wrfinput. If you now run wrf.exe with your wrfinput, you should see Dust_x in wrfout.
Cheers,
Robert

Hi Nero,
I do not know which exercise you refer to. But when I do dust simulations I normally force the simulation without dust and let the WRF model emit dust itself. So everything is fine when Dust_x is zero in wrfinput after running real.exe. But EROD, CLAYFRAC should not be zero in wrfinput. If you now run wrf.exe with your wrfinput, you should see Dust_x in wrfout.
Cheers,
Robert
Hi Robert,
Thanks very much for your reply. I am runing the tutotial exercise on WRFCHEM page (https://ruc.noaa.gov/wrf/wrf-chem/tutorialexercises/tutorialexercises001.html). I followed this exercise but without extra emission data. And the problem is there is no Dust_x variables in neither the wrfinput file nor the wrfoutput file after I run the real.exe and wrf.exe. I have tried re-installing the WRF model but still failed. I am wondering whether I make some mistakes in the running flow of WRF-Dust since the guide on the WRF-CHEM homepage is based on Vesion 3.9?