Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

WRF compile doesn't make .exe files

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

Mozzarella

Dear all

I am new in WRF software. I am trying to install WRF and WPS in linux(CentOS 8.4 64 bit).I have succesfully installed jasper-1.900.1, libpng-1.2.50, zlib-1.2.7, netcdf-4.1.3, and mpich-3.0.4.

I have been guiding myself for the installation with the UCAR guide (https://www2.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/OnLineTut ... torial.php).

The problem ocurrs during compilation of WRF after the configure process. The compilation process run, and run for about 8 minutes, but I don't get the executables. The log compile file have the next message:

---> Problems building executables, look for errors in the build log <---

These is my log file and config.
View attachment configure.wrf
View attachment log.compile
can you help me?
Thank you in advance!

Hi,
If you search for the word "Error," (with a capital "E"), you will see the error is related to the module_state_description file. Can you try to compile the latest version of the code to see if you are still receiving the same error? Thanks!

Dear Kwerner,
Thank you for your reply.
As per your suggestion, I have created the configure and logfile again.

Thank you very much for your help

Attachments

• 20220301configure.wrf
    20.1 KB · Views: 21
  • 20220301log.compile
    852.7 KB · Views: 19
Hi,
It looks like you compiled WRFV4.0 again. Can you please try to compile with the latest version of WRF (V4.3.3) to see if there is any difference? Thanks!

Hi,
Thank you for your advice. I downloaded the latest version of WRF(v4.3.3) and compiled it.
There was such a warning when I configured it.