Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

WRF-v4.3.3 compilation on macOS Monterey Version 12.1

This post was from a previous version of the WRF&MPAS-A Support Forum. New replies have been disabled and if you have follow up questions related to this post, then please start a new thread from the forum home page.

Rajarshi Sharma

Hello,

I am new to WRF and trying to install it in macOS.

I have successfully installed all my libraries and done compatibility tests. Also configured WRF-v4.3.3 (latest bug-fixed version).

But I am unable to generate the executables. Compilation not successful.

I have attached the compile.log file.

Thanks in advance.
Raj

Attachments

• log.compile
    1.1 MB · Views: 22
Hi Raj,
The first error message in your log file is
Code:
gcc  -I. -w -O3 -c  -DMACOS  -DDM_PARALLEL -DLANDREAD_STUB=1 -DMAX_HISTORY=25 -DNMM_CORE=0 -I/Users/rajarshisharma/Build_WRF/LIBRARIES/grib2/include   -c dec_jpeg2000.c
enc_jpeg2000.c:142:11: error: no member named 'inmem_' in 'jas_image_t'
    image.inmem_=1;
    ~~~~~ ^
1 error generated.
make[5]: [enc_jpeg2000.o] Error 1 (ignored)
which seems strange, and potentially trying to do something with an image file?

1) When you cloned or downloaded WRF, did you put it in its own clean directory?
2) Did you make any sort of modifications to the WRF code prior to compiling?
3) Are there any files or images that shouldn't be in the grib2/include directory?

After checking those items, can you clean the code again and try to recompile?

./clean -a
./configure
./compile em_real >& log.compile

Please send the new log.compile file, along with your configure.wrf file. Thanks!

Hi kwerner,

Thanks for responding to my query.

I am compiling WRF-v4.3.3 using grib2 output and I have used jasper-2.0.33 for the purpose.