Scheduled Downtime
On Friday 21 April 2023 @ 5pm MT, this website will be down for maintenance and expected to return online the morning of 24 April 2023 at the latest

Trouble running ungrib and metgrid with long-term data with scattered years

Tam Nguyen

Dear all,

Please excuse myself since I'm a totally beginner with WRF. I've tried to search for the answer thoroughly but couldn't find any possible solution.

My current aim is I'm trying to run WPS for a few years including 1887, 1889, 1930, 1945, 1954, 1971, 1972 with data from 20CR Reanalysis Datasets of NOAA with timestep is daily (a.k.a. 24 hours).
Domain: I have the intention with 3 domain (100km, 30km, 10km).
Time in &share: As I know, this should cover all the time domain so I put:
start_date: 1887-01-01_00:00:00
end_date: 1973-01-01_00:00:00

Therefore, as instructed, I've set the start_date and end_date is 1887 and 1973 as in the file below. However, every interval_second I've tried is not possible (24 hours, 12 hours, 6 hours, 3 hours). Unless I set the interval_second as 1 seconds, the error when running ungrib will always be:
ERROR STOP IN READ_NAMELIST
INTERVAL must fit evenly between start time and end time:

If I do indeed set the interval_second as 1, running metgrid will give the error:
end_date is earlier than start_date.

I'll attach the namelist.wps below and longing for any suggestions. Thank you

Attachments

• namelist.wps
    1.1 KB · Views: 3
Hi,
Do you have data consecutively (i.e., every 24-hour interval) between 1887 and 1973? I think, based on the title of this inquiry, you only have it for certain years, and not the years in between. Is that correct?